

# **Cabinet Legislation Committee**

#### Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

### Local Government (Ōpōtiki District Council) Order 2019

Portfolio Land Information

On 10 December 2019, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

noted that section 11(2) of the New Zealand Geographic Board Act 2008 (the Act) gives the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (the Board) a function to alter the name of a local authority region if the relevant local authority consents or requests it, by resolution;

## Prior process — changing the region name under the New Zealand Geographic Board Act

- **noted** that on 5 June 2018, the Opotiki District Council resolved to alter the official district name from 'Opotiki District' to 'Ōpōtiki District';
- **noted** that the Board dealt with the requested alteration as required by sections 16 to 20 of the Act, by publicly notifying, and receiving submissions on the requested alteration;
- 4 **noted** that on 13 September 2019, the Chair of the Board, under delegation and acting under section 19(1)(a) of the Act accepted 'Ōpōtiki District' as the final determination;

#### Changing the local authority's name under the Local Government Act

- 5 **noted** that on 20 October 2019, the Minister for Land Information agreed to recommend to the Governor-General the making of an Order in Council under section 260 of the Local Government Act 2002;
- noted that the Order in Council amends schedule 2 of the Local Government Act to alter 'Opotiki District Council' to 'Ōpōtiki District Council';
- authorised the submission to the Executive Council of the Local Government (Ōpōtiki District Council) Order 2019 [PCO 22490/2.0];

#### Gerrard Carter Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Iain Lees-Galloway

Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Eugenie Sage

Michael Wood MP (Senior Government Whip)

#### Hard-copy distribution:

Minister for Land Information

#### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG